Objects Keeps Highlighting When Hovering Cursor Over Drawing In AutoCAD

 

Customizing settings in AutoCAD can help boost performance of speed when drafting especially when you are using a very old computer which has limited amount of memory space. As there are many functions running in AutoCAD by default, some useful and some are totally redundant, It is common that your computer tends to lag and slow your work process. To customise your own settings, you should first understand the functions of various settings. You can get help understanding the commands by various blogs, forum or even in AutoCAD itself simply by pressing the “F1” key for help.

One of the things that happen to me while drafting was the objects keeps highlighting whenever I hover my cursor over my drawing. It was already bad enough that I was indeed using an old computer which affected the total time to complete my work. If you are still visualizing what exactly I am trying to input in this post, the images may help you understand clearer.

Cursor at free space:

highlight1

Cursor when hovered at objects without clicking:

highlight2

 

The solution is very simple actually. Take a look at the images I have uploaded below and hopefully if you have had the same problem as me, this will be of any help for you.

Step 1: Type “OP” to call out the options menu.

highlight3

Step 2: Go to  “Selection”>”Preview”

highlight4

Step 3: Unselect the checked boxes which states “When a command is active” & “When no command is active”

highlight5

1. “When a command is active” means that objects will be highlighted if you are currently using a command and hovering your cursor at the object.

2. “When no command is active” means likewise that objects will be highlighted whether or not you are currenlty using a command and hovering your cursor at the object.

And thats about it. Do check out my group on facebook (carefuldrafter) and twitter(CarefulDrafter) as well for latest updates on my blog. Happy Drafting!

Leave a comment