Custom Command Shortcuts in AutoCAD

Generally many of us use shortcut commands to speed up our work when using AutoCAD. Some examples such as to draw a line, instead of typing the entire word “LINE” in the commandline we use “L” to speed up our work. Another example will be instead of “PURGE” we type PU for short.

There is a command which will allows you to custom your own shortcuts which will speed up your drafting further. This depends on individual, some people are used to using the default commands set by AutoCAD and will get affected by changes and some because they have never heard of this commans generally. I normally change my commands by using ALIASEDIT (ALIA). This command will allow you to edit command shortcuts to your own preference.

Let me just explain a little further, I realise that I use rotate most of the time and I always have to type “RO” in the command line to initiate the command. When I type “R” instead, the command will call for redraw. I hardly use the command redraw and would like to custom my shortcut command for rotate to be “R” instead of “RO”, not forgetting to change the command “REDRAW” as well. This actually saves a lot of my time. The images Ive uploaded below will show you how to use the command “ALIASEDIT” to speed up your work.

Step 1:

alias1

Step 2:

alias2

Step 3:

alias3

Step 4:

alias4

Step 5:

Basically that very straightforward and simple explaination on how to use ALIASEDIT. Just remember that most of the commands are already assigned with shortcuts and by redefining a command, you also need to ensure that it does not mirror another command. Try it yourself and hopefully it helps you speed up your work.

Leave a comment